Pillars of Islam – Guide for Every Muslim

Pillars of Islam – Guide for Every Muslim

There are five pillars of Islam, and they all have very importance in Islamic Religion. These pillars are consecutively called as “Shahada,” which is the first pillar as a declaration of faith. The second pillar is “Prayer,” which is to pray to the Almighty Allah. The third pillar is “Zakat,” which is for alms-giving. The fourth one is “Fasting,” which is to fast all day in the name of Allah. And the last of them is “Hajj” as a pilgrimage. These pillars constitute the basic norms of Islamic practice.

Shahada – The profession of Faith

This is the arkan e islam or first pillar of Islam which states that “There is no god but Allah, and prophet Muhammad (PBUH) is the last messenger of God.”

Having faith in the oneness of Allah makes the belief strong as there is only one God to whom everybody will have to answer. This faith keeps a person strong and independent in the hardest times and holds him together to face his fears. A person who recites this phrase in Arabic by accepting Allah as the Almighty and only one and considers Prophet PUBH as the last messenger of Allah becomes a Muslim with this belief.

Prayer (Salah)

Prayer is a basic routine for a Muslim that has to be offered every day to bow down to the Almighty for praising Him and thanking him for everything. Muslims offer prayer 5 times a day, facing themselves towards “Holy Kaabah.”

The first prayer is offered at dawn, and the second is offered in the noon. The third prayer takes place in mid-afternoon, and then the next when the sunsets. The last prayer is offered at night time in the dark. The prayer includes recitation of verses of the Quran, and these prayers can be offered at any clean place to bow down and praise the Almighty.

See also  How To Do Asian Wedding Photography

Muslim men pray 5 times behind Imam, who leads the prayer. They pray together to ALLAH after the end of Farz.


Zakat is a donation in accordance with Islamic law for a fixed portion of people or any community members that are in need. Zakat leads to donations, building hospitals, mosques, drinking fountains, schools, and other charitable institutions. Muslims consider it a religious duty and help the needy people around them with Zakat.


Fasting is an act that is taken during the Holy month of Ramadan. Ramadan is the ninth month of the Islamic calendar in which all the Muslims around the world abstain from food and drink all day until sunset.

This temporary deprivation is the way to renew the feeling of gratitude and awareness about all the blessings that Allah has granted to the people. During this month, the Muslims fast to remind themselves that there are many needy and poor who are less fortunate who have to suffer for getting food and water. It’s just a gentle reminder.

Hajj (Pilgrimage)

Hajj is the last pillar, which is required for every Muslim who has good health and wealth to take on the charges and challenges. A Muslim should at least perform Hajj once in his life if his resources and health allow him to. Hajj consists of many things that must be taken care of, and Hajj can only be performed in Mecca.

Muslims believe that Kaabah is the house of Abraham which was created for Allah, and they all pray towards this direction of Qibla.

See also  Home Improvement Ideas: 16 Ways to Change the Interior beyond Recognition


This was a short discussion on the five pillars of Islam. All the basic info for these pillars has been shared, and for more info, you can leave a comment in the box below.